It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 00:05

Looking for a LCD / LCD module for the Heuer Chronosplit.

Owners of VINTAGE DSM and LCD watches post their topics over here
  • Author

Mr Frequency 32768hz

Techno Mage

Techno Mage

Looking for a LCD / LCD module for the Heuer Chronosplit.

Post21 Sep 2006, 11:48

Just acuired a NOS Heuer LCD / LCD Chronoplit. But the LCD screen module has leaked, and looks like its totally dead. Does anyone have any leads on finding a new module for this model ? Thanks in advance for any help.

Mr Frequency 32768hz

Techno Mage

Techno Mage

Re: Looking for a LCD / LCD module for the Heuer Chronosplit

Post07 Jan 2007, 12:38

I guess its going to be impossible to find a spare module for this Heuer Chrono LCD/LCD. Im not a LCD expert, but does anyone know if a LCD screen that has bled can be fixed ? Or another LCD screen be transplanted on.

retroleds

Guru

Guru

• Location: Surrounded by hicks and sticks (farms and woods) - Michigan,USA

Post07 Jan 2007, 23:03

Transplant is doable...problem is getting one with matching contacts on the display matrix - and some early ones were actually glued down like a fused LED display(like on a Pulsar). I recently brought back an Optel stem set, using one that had a good screen, gleaned from another where some fool had forcibly pulled the stem out of the case. I guess as we get further into the LCD era of horology, repairperson's should think about pulling the display matrix from any pieces with collectible potential and keep them organized. Theoretically, you might pop open a watch made today, and find one with a matching matrix layout. A real shame...I see one up on ebay that has this problem -your's?
http://www.retroleds.com - Sales of vintage LED, LCD, analog watches, parts and gadgets - repair tutorials & tips
Nov. 2022 - back in business!! BItter divorce is in home stretch, come grabs some great deals, I had to open the safe . . . damn attorneys. piss.

gjlelec

Wizard

Wizard

Post07 Jan 2007, 23:44