Discussion on MODERN LED, LCD, OLED and E-INK watches
  • Author

AlmightyTallest

Wizard

Wizard

My Review of the Seiko Spirit Lupin the 3rd EPD

Post26 Oct 2012, 15:56

Hey Guys!!

I've been collecting vintage digital watches for over 20 years now, but one thing I have not really done until now is purchase something truely, well, new. I got the urge a few years ago when I saw all the reivews of Seiko's EPD watch, especially so after the positive reviews and great photos from our own forum member Huertecilla really made me want to go out and get one for myself. Unfortunately the cost was just a bit too high for me to justify at the time and I had always hoped for perhaps a used one to show up that I could afford. In the meantime I purchased a Phosphor E-ink watch to satisfy my curiosity for E-ink as a watch technology and was impressed with what possibilities there were with this new type of display technology.

Fast forward two years and I came across these Limited edition Seiko EPD watches featuring some Anime from Lupin the 3rd and Golgo 13. Both of which were characters I remembered in my youth, Lupin was featured in a 1983 Laser Disc Arcade game called "Cliff Hanger" as well as an Anime movie called "The Count of Monte Cristo" and Golgo 13 I remembered as a NES game in the late 80's.

For those unfamiliar with the franchise, here's some videos of the Cliff Hanger arcade machine, and how the game plays out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc5MKWJ7j6Y
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tQqf8nciH0&feature=related