It is currently 29 Apr 2024, 18:55

NS/PII Frankenstein

For electronic related stuff like module repair, silver epoxy fixes etc.
  • Author

digibloke

Wizard

Wizard

NS/PII Frankenstein

Post07 Feb 2007, 16:45

Finished work on this at the weekend. It's a mens National Semiconductor module put into a dead PII. It's my first attempt and it seems to be working great so I'm quite pleased with it.

Incidently that's one of Olivier's (Compuchron's) time screens on the watch and it actually looks much nicer than in the photo.

Here's the module before everything was tidied up and glued into place. Took it with a mobile phone so apologies for pic quality. The white wires go to the battery connections on the base. One end of the reed switches goes to the donor module the other end to the PII case, then put a new quartz on it and off you go...

(Ed - First time I've put any pics up - if these are too big then let me know and I'll resize them. DB).

richard_uk

Guru

Guru

Post07 Feb 2007, 16:54

Nice neat job 8) gives a lot of satisfaction when you see your creation bring a dead Pulsar back to life, every time you press the button you can think I did that :)

Led-Time

Guru

Guru

Post07 Feb 2007, 19:55

That's excellent, first class job you've done there. Is it a dot display or line.

I apologise if this is a stupid question :oops: but how do you set the time, isn't Pulsar watches set underneath by a magnet.

retroleds

Guru

Guru

• Location: Surrounded by hicks and sticks (farms and woods) - Michigan,USA

PUlsar Frankenstien

Post07 Feb 2007, 20:01

EDIT] Nice job LEE!!(digibloke
400X400 photos are best...I think I can control this in the administrative controls...gonna go check that out.
Last edited by retroleds on 08 Feb 2007, 00:36, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.retroleds.com - Sales of vintage LED, LCD, analog watches, parts and gadgets - repair tutorials & tips