It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 01:36

My first project is done (but stil not perfect): Seiko C153

Present your latest purchases, talk about pro + cons or write an interesting review!
  • Author

Rixi

My first project is done (but stil not perfect): Seiko C153

Post23 Mar 2016, 01:44

As already stated in the new members section, I'm a bloody beginner and found myself addicted to this new hobby during last christmas holidays.

Some weeks ago I acquired a Seiko C153 on ebay, listed as non-worker. I was somehow hoping that it will work anyway, but after putting a battery, the LCD was just flickering around like crazy. So I started to take it apart and the first thing I found out was that the stem of the middle button was broken. So setting the watch wasn't possible, but luckily switching to setting mode is still possible by moving the setting lever manually, when operating the module outside the case. While playing around with the module and searching for the problem, I suspected one button to be pressed down permanently and resulting in the flickering LCD. But after checking the buttons mechanics in detail, this wasn't the fact.
I was taking the whole module apart and assembled it again and again, trying to understand more and more detail of how the module works. I was measurring different traces on the PCP and cleaned with alcohol. This trial and error procedure took me some hours, but at some point the watch was working. :grin1: To be honest, I'm still not 100% sure, what the actual problem was, but I think it was just some dirt on the PCB, causing a short cut of one of the setting buttons.

So the module was in working condition now, but still the stem (of the middle button) was broken. So I googled to find a new one, posted in "Watches and Parts Needed" and finally ordered a new stem at http://www.flume.de