I need help on a PUlsar-Pulse

• Author

retroleds

Guru

Guru

• Location: Surrounded by hicks and sticks (farms and woods) - Michigan,USA

I need help on a PUlsar-Pulse

Post26 Apr 2007, 15:49

Customer sent me a Pulsar Pulse - I'll admit, I have never worked on one before. The display had completely came off the chip - I reglued with silver based epoxy and gently clamped overnight - ok, good, the dispay workes marvelous. But the watch has a bad habit of going into a 00 mode for no apparent reason. :(
I've gone over every bit of the circuit under the microscope...all looks good. And it keeps perfect time.
Thoughts, suggestions, please.
http://www.retroleds.com - Sales of vintage LED, LCD, analog watches, parts and gadgets - repair tutorials & tips
Nov. 2022 - back in business!! BItter divorce is in home stretch, come grabs some great deals, I had to open the safe . . . damn attorneys. piss.

gjlelec

Wizard

Wizard

re: I need help on a PUlsar-Pulse

Post26 Apr 2007, 18:15

i had a Longines that used to do exactly the same thing, it would run for a few days then revert to zeros. I guessed what happened was that something would momentarily short the battery, the voltage would drop off- and it would revert to zeros- as if you had just installed newbatteries.Whilst it worked it kept perfect time- the only other anomaly was that it would eat a set of batteries in a couple of weeks

Old Tom

Wizard

Wizard

Post26 Apr 2007, 20:53

Is the display just the two left hand digits?- I was wondering if this might be the result of a slight misalignment of the LED & phototransistor in the pulse sensor giving rise to a "phantom" finger sense by this pair causing the watch to flip over to pulse mode (and showing zero pulse because no finger is present). Or maybe one of your work lamps is triggering the phototransistor (fluorescent lights are the worst offender). Must admit to never having had one of these so preceding is just speculation.

bruce wegmann

Pulsar Moderator