It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 21:53

Complete Mystery, Water Powered watch, no battery

• Author

VID

Complete Mystery, Water Powered watch, no battery

Post19 Feb 2006, 19:33

Hi...
I am a newbie in this forum, I?m a watch collector, I am just wondering if anyone out there has any info about this watch, it is a complete mystery to me, I could not find anything like it in the internet search, the watch work with water, has no battery you just pour water over the watch and set the time and date et voila it works, I will be grateful for any info
:!:

fronzelneekburm

Guru

Guru

Re: Complete Mystery, Water Powered watch, no battery

Post19 Feb 2006, 20:47

Seen these often in the 80s here in germany. I remember I had a calculator that was powered with water, it didnt last for long, probably some misture got into the IC. When I disassembled it I found that it had a battery built in. Dont know much about the tech and I am probably wrong - but I think its a scam. I mean if you can use water instead a battery then why arent there more applications for it? I think it would be quite usefull for boat and beach accessory. Like a radio powered by water that you can take to the beach.

fronzelneekburm

Guru

Guru

Post19 Feb 2006, 20:55

Okay, my curiosity has costed me 6,30 Euros again... :?

I have bought a water powered clock - I just assume it must be the same tech as for the watch and calculator.

http://cgi.ebay.de/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... 8902352875

Its german, but the seller claims the watch is mysteriously driven by "water and other electrolytical liquids". Well I may be wrong, but I think most batteries also contain electrolytical liquids.

But the seller assures: No Battery, no solar cells. We will see. I will post here as soon as I have discovered the myst of the water powered electronics.

VID

Post19 Feb 2006, 21:11